Get Support

User Blocking

User Blocking is a feature that allows you to deal with trolls, spammers, and other unwanted content on Disqus. The tool allows users to hide all comments from another account that they no longer wish to view or engage with. The blocked account will not receive a notification or indication that they have been blocked by you.

How to Block a User

User blocking may be accessed either from the profile of the account you would like to block, or from the dropdown menu appearing on each of their comments.

  • On a user's profile, the blocking option may be accessed in the menu next to the Follow button for their profile:
  • In a comment thread, the blocking option may be produced by clicking the triangle dropdown menu in the top right corner of their comment:

The Impact of Blocking a User

Once a user has been blocked, all of their comments, discussions, and recommends will be hidden from you throughout your Home feed, Inbox notifications, and discussions on external websites. If there are replies to a blocked comment within a discussion, it will be collapsed with a message stating "This user has been blocked".

Manage Your Block List

Any user that you block will be added to your block list which is located in Settings > Blocking. Use the Previous and Next buttons to change pages, and use the Unblock button to remove a specific user that you no long want to block. The maximum number of users you can block is 1,000.

list of users you have previously blocked with blue unblock buttons

F.A.Q.

Q: If I block someone, will they be able to see my posts?
A: Yes. It is only a one-way block, so that you can make someone invisible to you. They can still see your posts, and (technically) reply to you, but you won't get notified or be able to see their comments, discussions, or replies.

Q: If a moderator blocks someone, will they be able to see their comments in the moderation panel?
A: Blocking a user will not effect anything in the moderation panel. All comments will still be visible.

Q: If I block someone, will I still see if they upvote me?
A: It looks like it currently shows you everyone who has upvoted your comment including blocked users. We do hide notifications of upvotes from blocked users though.

Did you find this article helpful?